October 06, 2024, 07:19:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Inhailing bad JUJU?!  (Read 3601 times)

Offline Smokin

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Inhailing bad JUJU?!
« on: April 08, 2008, 04:23:09 AM »
Im an artist working with lead carbonate, and lead oxides (PBO) which are used as siccatives to get paint to dry faster. I am interested in cooking PBO into my oils which has been done for centuries, but the modern day artist usually gets equiped with a radiation like suit and cooks thier lead outside with resperators and all kinds of safety equipment to prevent lead getting absorbed or breathed in. All which I dont object to, its good to be safe, but here is my question, does it help at all?!

I was watching youtube chemistry vids and was surprised to see someone take a test tube of lead and take a blowtorch to it for some reason, but it was all done with no respirators or and saftey gear other than to hold the test tube at arms lenth. Is the modern day artist geting into all this safety gear an overkill? The boiling point of Linseed oil is 350 C, the boiling point of litharge I believe is 600C. I dont plan to heat up the oil or lead passed 120ish C.  Is there any chance of fumes or vapors if the temp of the substance Im cooking does not reach anywhere close to the boiling point?

BTW, the idea behind cooking the litharge into the oil is to disolve it into the oil and to use the oil to grind pigments into a paint. The PBO acts as an oxidizer wich speeds the drying time of oil which dry through an oxidation process.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Inhailing bad JUJU?!
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 07:43:09 AM »