September 19, 2024, 06:32:37 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Cr electron configeration 4s, 3d help.  (Read 10990 times)

Offline NewtoAtoms

• Mole Snacks: +8/-2
Cr electron configeration 4s, 3d help.
« on: May 10, 2008, 06:34:06 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am new to chemistry so please pardon my naive questions!

If I was asked to give the electronic configurations of Cr, I would first note that Z=24, and that n=4 from the periodic table.  HOWEVER, if I plot out the electrons using energy level diagrams, it would be as follows

3d   6 to give me a total of 24 electrons
3p   6   
3s   2
2p   6
2s   2
1s   2
1s22s22p63s23p63d6

But I  know from the periodic table that n=4, which means there are some electrons in the n=4. 
When I cheat and look on the internet I see that the electron configeration is 1s22s22p63s23p63d54s1.

can anyone explain to me why or how we got to this??  Why does this happen and how do I know when to look for this in other elements?

Thank you for you help.

Offline tamim83

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +67/-7
  • Quantum Kitten
Re: Cr electron configeration 4s, 3d help.
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2008, 08:51:49 PM »
It is one of the common anomolies in the periodic table.  Half filled subshells are quite stable so instead of Cr having a 3d44s2 configuration, it has a 3d54s1 configuration, which is more stable.  I imagine that this has been confirmed spectroscopically.  It happens with Mo, W, and Sg as well since they live in the same group. 

Also, full shells are very stable because they have a "psuedo" noble gas configuration.  So Cu, Ag, and Au have a nd10ms1 configuration instead of a nd9ms1 configuration. 

Offline NewtoAtoms

• Mole Snacks: +8/-2
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2008, 09:16:26 PM »
Thank you!! 

Of course I can always find an anomolie, should there be one to find!