September 07, 2024, 10:16:14 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Material Help  (Read 6899 times)

Offline albgk

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Material Help
« on: June 23, 2009, 05:25:39 PM »
Being a citezen chemist, I like to make my chemicals myself rather than ordering them. I recently went out and got the product Root Endz (having Copper Sulfate and other inert materials). I left it out to evaporate, and yesterday I noticed Copper Sulfate crystals forming but it still had some solution left... today i noticed that it had all dried up and there was a white powdery substance on it. So i was wondering what the substance was and how i could seperate the powder from the copper sulfate..

thanks

albgk

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
Re: Material Help
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 03:12:24 AM »

Offline albgk

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2009, 05:09:44 PM »
hey thanks bill that does help... but that doesn't explain the white powder that has formed... can anyone explain this???

p.s. srry for the lateresponse i have been out of town

Offline Kitchench3m

« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2009, 02:08:48 AM »
Well its relatively safe to assume that the blue crystals are in fact the CuSO4 that you are looking for. I know that the anhydrous form of CuSO4 is a white powder like substance, but if you weren't vigorously heating the solution they most likely would not have formed. I would try manually removing the powder and attempting to recrystalize the stuff. If blue crystals form then great. If not it's most likely some of the left over inert ingredient. Depending on the purity of the substance you need, you could redissolve the blue crystals and reform them again. Then remove the powder if any remains, and repeat until you get the desired big bright shiney crystals you need :). (on a side note... don't lick the stuff, tried it as a kid not too great)

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1805/-411