September 29, 2024, 03:23:11 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Dialysis Treatment Center  (Read 4655 times)

Offline Electrical Contractor

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Dialysis Treatment Center
« on: November 21, 2010, 10:19:51 AM »
Hello,

I am an Electrician who is responsible for replacing damaged metal electrical raceways (EMT and Aluminum Clad Cable)
in the crawl space beneath a dialysis treatment center. The raceways were damaged from the chemicals used in the dialysis process. The raceways run near leaky PVC plumbing lines that carry the chemicals to each patient station. From what I have gathered I am either dealing with acetate or bicarbonate or both. What type of protective measures do I need to take in order to be safe?

Thank You,
Jim

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1808/-411
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Dialysis Treatment Center
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 10:40:18 AM »
Neither bicarbonate nor acetate are toxic (well, everything is toxic to some extent, these two are quite safe). They are used in quite low concentrations, but when leak dries out salts crystallize and they probably can become irritating. Rubber gloves should do. Probably even gloves with just rubber covered fingers.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 10:55:47 AM »
Neither bicarbonate nor acetate are toxic (well, everything is toxic to some extent, these two are quite safe). They are used in quite low concentrations, but when leak dries out salts crystallize and they probably can become irritating. Rubber gloves should do. Probably even gloves with just rubber covered fingers.

Borek,

Thank you for this most helpful advice. May I ask which one of these chemicals corroded the raceways, and how?