October 18, 2024, 10:36:13 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Stipend and Tuition Setup in Graduate Schools  (Read 7215 times)

Offline PsiXPsi

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Stipend and Tuition Setup in Graduate Schools
« on: June 27, 2011, 12:44:09 AM »
If anyone wouldn't mind posting, I had a couple of questions regarding how your graduate institution (past or present) handled graduate students.  I'm currently in my second year, and the setup was finally starting to nag at me, so I wanted to get a consensus among the other grads.

For us (i will keep the university nameless for now), seven credit hours at the out-of-state and in-state rates are covered each Fall and Spring Semester; if any student takes more than seven, we are left to cover the rest at the in-state rate ($167.50 per hour).  However, with each semester, there are fees based on the number of credit hours taken that the grad students must pay (generally seven hours are taken, so each Fall and Spring semester there are approximately $725 that we must pay).  For the summer semester, generally six credit hours are taken (three waved) but the other three are set at in-state rate, and with the fees, we generally pay $1125 or so for summer.

So in a year, the grad students for chemistry are paid around $16,500 (after taxes) and must pay (for tuition and fees) nearly $2,600.  

My question is whether or not this is the same for everyone else (in terms of having to pay fees and tuition, the stipend received, etc)??

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Stipend and Tuition Setup in Graduate Schools
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 03:08:10 AM »