September 21, 2024, 07:40:21 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Medical Marijuana Testing Questions  (Read 2984 times)

Offline DHOG

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Medical Marijuana Testing Questions
« on: August 18, 2011, 10:59:40 AM »
Hello all,

I recently opened up a legal medical marijuana dispensary. I have a degree in pharmaceutical chemistry and have been a sales rep for a pharm company since graduation. Recently I have opened up a medical marijuana dispensary and was wanting to do my own testing.

The things I want to test for are:
THC
CBD
CBN
As well as other cannabinoids

I will also like to do a chemical screening for common pesticides to ensure that there are none in the medicine.

Now I have a few questions...
1. Which would be easiest and most cost effective to do this?
- GC/MS?
-Thin Layer?
-Something else?

2. Is there a database online that lists what values I will be looking for in my testing for THC? And cannabiniods?

Some things to consider are THC's sticky nature. The molecule is very very sticky so I would want to use a machine that will not easily get clogged up. I have a budget of about $4000-$6000 to spend on this right now. Can anybody suggest something that would be useful? I can spend more money if absolutely necessary, it will just take me longer to save up money. I have done analytical work before in college, but its been about 5 years.

Thanks all

Offline Jasim

• Mole Snacks: +15/-5
  • Analytical chemist, passionate about chemistry
Re: Medical Marijuana Testing Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 01:07:55 PM »
GC/MS is going to be the most accurate, it's the standard, but it's also very expensive (especially if you are wanting to procure a GC/MS machine yourself). You can screen for just about anything with a decent MS library. You'll want to do an extraction to clean up the sample (that should take care of your *sticky* concerns).