September 28, 2024, 11:35:18 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: The Peroxide Effect  (Read 2167 times)

Offline BetaAmyloid

• Mole Snacks: +18/-38
The Peroxide Effect
« on: October 17, 2012, 06:50:51 PM »
This is in response to a thread that dealt with the addition of HBr to vinyl chloride and the formation of either 1,1-dibromoethane or 1,2-dibromoethane.

This is also in response to a paper that Dan posted that I read here: http://pubs.acs.org/doi/pdf/10.1021/ja01333a048

I understand experimentally what the results are, but how does the peroxide effect actually affect this particular reaction? Affect reactions in general?

I know this paper is from 1933, perhaps there is a new term for the peroxide effect now-a-days.

As a side note...I'm still an undergrad, but I didn't know peroxide resided in many compounds (if that is right)? How does peroxide form in materials?

That may be a large question, so if there is not a specific answer, I always enjoy reading what has already been published out there.

Thanks for the responses.
Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought - Albert Szent-Györgyi

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
Re: The Peroxide Effect
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 08:11:43 PM »
Development Chemists do it on Scale, Research Chemists just do it!
My Research History

Offline BetaAmyloid

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2012, 09:00:30 PM »
Have a read here.
http://www.chemguide.co.uk/mechanisms/freerad/alkenehbr.html

Cool, thanks.

So HBr happens to be just right for the peroxide effect.

A question to the mechanism: Why do these peroxides happen to become free radicals, why don't they want to stay as peroxides? Is the bond between oxygens so unstable that it would rather form a radical to accept a proton?