September 29, 2024, 07:29:05 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Purification of Alcohols  (Read 2624 times)

Offline AlphaScent

• Mole Snacks: +24/-7
Purification of Alcohols
« on: June 12, 2013, 11:23:48 AM »
Hello all and happy hump day,

I am wondering if any of you have ever purified alcohols by making a solid derivative using 3,5-dinitrobenzoyl chloride?  I have this task in front me and was wondering if there are any tricks or procedural techniques that may be useful to me.  I have never done this reaction before.  Can I do it neat?  Add the chloride to the alcohol i assume?  Best solvent to recrystallize from?

Thanks in advance!!

Cheers!
If you're not part of the solution, then you're part of the precipitate

Offline AlphaScent

Re: Purification of Alcohols
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 11:27:01 AM »
I forgot to add, I found this

PROCEDURE: Place 800 mg of 3,5-dinitrobenzoyl chloride, 0.20 mL (or 200 mg) of the unknown
alcohol, 2.0 mL of dry pyridine, and a boiling stone in a 5-mL round-bottomed flask. Attach an aircooled condenser and heat the mixture at reflux on an aluminum block or in a sand bath at 140°C for 15–20 min. Put 5 mL of water in a 10-mL Erlenmeyer flask and pour the reaction mixture slowly into the water. Cool the solution in an ice-water bath until the product precipitates. Scratching the walls of the flask with a stirring rod may be necessary to induce crystallization. Collect the crystals by vacuum filtration on a Hirsch funnel. Transfer the crystals to a small beaker and stir them thoroughly with 3 mL of 5% sodium carbonate solution to remove the excess 3,5-dinitrobenzoic acid that may be present. Again collect the solid by vacuum filtration on a Hirsch funnel and wash it with 1 mL of cold water. Recrystallize the derivative from a mixture of ethanol and water.

Source: http://www2.volstate.edu/chem/2020/labs/qualitative_organic_analysis.pdf

Offline AlphaScent

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2013, 04:24:37 PM »