September 21, 2024, 10:11:27 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Post-docs. How does your work affect your family/personal life?  (Read 3938 times)

Offline MattA147

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
Hi guys, I am extremely interested in pursuing a career in academia.

However, was wondering do you have to move around a lot for post doctoral positions and does this affect your family life/personal life. Like finding a wife/husband, settling down, and having children?

Obviously I don't mean to pry in people's affairs, however I would like a family in the future as well as hopefully a successful career in chemistry.

Apologies if I sound naive but I am an enthusiastic beginner and at this stage academia is one of the options I am interested in exploring further. Thank you for any help/guidance. :)

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +540/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Post-docs. How does your work affect your family/personal life?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 05:16:00 PM »
I got married before I was a post-doc.

Honestly it's an improvement over being a graduate student, but don't expect a perfect life or anything. You'll be in the lab a lot, and probably applying for jobs, so to quote Denis Leary, "Don't make any f*cking plans."
What men are poets who can speak of Jupiter if he were like a man, but if he is an immense spinning sphere of methane and ammonia must be silent?  - Richard P. Feynman

Offline MattA147

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 05:29:18 PM »
Thank you for your reply. Do you think that it is at all naive of me to be thinking of pursuing a career in academia before I even earn my first degree? :)

Does anyone else have some further comments? I would certainly appreciate it. :)

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +328/-24
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2014, 07:29:13 PM »
I think you are asking some of the right questions.  But you should also see how you like doing research.

Offline Corribus

• Chemist