September 07, 2024, 08:00:55 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Dilemma in Organic chemistry textbooks  (Read 3229 times)

Offline davidenarb

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Dilemma in Organic chemistry textbooks
« on: May 08, 2014, 07:32:11 PM »
Hi all,

I am a chemistry major student, and orgo is my favorite subject. I LOVE IT. I want to study organic chemistry in advance, and I have an organic chemistry textbook that I found it really understandable, and it makes orgo so much fun because simply I am UNDERSTANDING it with this textbook. However, this textbook is not the one that is required in my orgo classes. The professor required another one. So, when I compare both of the textbooks, I found that both textbooks contains the same chapters.

Here's the tricky part: in some reactions, for example, one textbook use HCL and the other one uses H2SO4. one uses H3O+ and the other one uses H2O. Also, it uses, for instance, Na instead of Li, and some other small details.  Of course the main reagent is the same.

This makes me a little apprehensive because I am wondering just in case the Prof want to see the EXACT reagents !

Also, there are some parts covered in one textbook, but these part are not covered in the other one and vice versa, but these small parts are few.

Again, I would like just to emphasize that the textbook makes orgo easier and understandable in a detail oriented dimension ! So I want really to stick with it.

Obviously, I dislike the idea of using both texts because it will slow down my studying because, as you know, orgo is a hard work and a lengthy learning process.

So, do you think that I can stick with my favorite textbook or I HAVE TO change it?

Please Help. This is really important for me. THANK YOU :)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 07:59:05 PM by davidenarb »

Offline 408

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +103/-30
Re: Dilemma in Organic chemistry textbooks
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 09:08:05 PM »