September 28, 2024, 10:24:50 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Atom-Transfer Radical Polymerization: Method Question  (Read 3189 times)

Offline BCP_Che_Engineer

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Atom-Transfer Radical Polymerization: Method Question
« on: September 23, 2015, 09:29:00 PM »
Hi everyone,

So I'm a chemical engineering grad student and oddly enough I have been tasked with doing chemistry (strange I know). I'm currently doing atom-transfer radical polymerization (ATRP) using a metal (CuCl  or CuBr) and a ligand (dNbpy or PDMETA). My monomer is a methacrylate group with a tert-butyl dimethyl silyl tail on it. Currently, I'm having an issue with my polymerization and I think it's caused by catalyst (CuCl) poisoning, but I was hoping someone here might be able to shed some light on the situation.

Current State: