September 27, 2024, 06:23:36 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help with emission spectrum  (Read 1392 times)

Offline smghz

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
Help with emission spectrum
« on: October 28, 2016, 06:07:56 PM »
Hi. I'm studying introductory chemistry and found a bit of challenge learning emission spectrum.
  • Say it's H. I put some amount of energy and a red photon is released. Now I put that same amount and a bit more. I know the answer: a red photon will be emitted. But will it be of the same frequency? Because I know there will be excess. That's what I am trying to wrap my head around: how can a red photon be emitted despite the possibility of more and more energy being absorbed? What happens to the excess energy?
  • I found this interesting statement by Zumdahl: When we study the photons of visible light emitted, we see only certain colors. That is, only certain types of photons are produced. We don’t see all colors, which would add up to give “white light”; we see only selected colors. This is a very significant result. Let’s discuss carefully what it means. What does he mean by white color? How can there be a white color made? I mean, it's just a spectrum of color based on frequency. And even if scientists before assumed that an atom can exist in any state of energy, what would be the use of a photon then??

Thank you so so much!

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +541/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Help with emission spectrum
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 10:01:03 AM »